One of the most enjoyable aspects of using Snapchat is chatting with both friends and strangers. What would you do, however, if you came into contact with someone who was impolite, disrespectful, or just plain creepy?
Blocking these users is one of the many options available to you so that you may avoid interaction with them. When you block someone on Snapchat, though, what really happens?
When you block someone on Snapchat, does that person know they’ve been blocked? Let’s take a look at what happens when you block someone on Snapchat.
How to Block Someone on Snapchat?
Before we go into what happens when you block someone on Snapchat, let’s have a look at how you can block them in the first place! Here are the actions you need to take to block someone:
- Go to Snapchat App
- Go to Chat of a User You Want to Block
- Now Find “3 Horizontal Lines or dots” (Top Right Corner)
- Tap on 3 Lines and Go to Menu
- Look for the Options and Choose “Block“
- Tap on “Block” and the Chat of a User Will Disappear
As an alternative to blocking a user, you may consider removing that person from your list of friends as a less serious response. That’s all there is to it when it comes to blocking. Now that you know how to block someone on Snapchat, let’s take a look at what happens next.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
You Won’t Get Snaps from Them
There is no way for the person you have blocked to find out that they have been blocked. They may keep trying to contact you, but you won’t be able to see their messages. Even while the sender will see that the message is unread, you won’t get a notice that it has been marked as such. Even if they try to send you a snap, it will show up as delivered for the sender, but you will never see it.
They Will Be Able To View Your Snaps
If you block a user’s profile on Snapchat, that user will be able to watch your snaps but you will not be able to view your blocked user’s snaps. When you block someone, you do not want them to be able to access anything you publish, therefore this could be a bit frustrating for you because of that. And this is something that happens to us all the time on Facebook.
They Won’t Be Able to Add You Again
They will be unaware that you have stopped them from communicating with you. They will still have access to your Snapchat profile, and you will remain on their friend list.
If you have previously been added to their list of friends, they will not be able to add you again, even if you opt to unblock them.
You will need to remove them from your blocked users’ list and then send them a friend request before they can be added back to your friend list.
The Blocked User Will Be Removed from Your Friend’s List
If you decide to block someone, you won’t be able to keep in touch with them, and they will immediately disappear from your list of friends.
They will reset all of the interactions you’ve had with them to zero. In addition, they will be removed from your list of best friends immediately. You’ll have to start all over again if you want to revive a friendship years later. Past conversations and other exchanges can never be recovered.
Sent Messages Will Remain Unread
Perhaps you have reconsidered your decision to block a certain user on Snapchat, and as a result, you want to unblock them immediately.
It’s important to remember that if you unblock someone, you won’t get any messages they sent you while they were blocked. Snaps are subject to the same conditions. Unblocking a contact won’t reveal any snaps they attempted to send while the contact was blocked.
Chat Will Be Deleted from Your Side
A blocked user will no longer be visible to you once you take that step. Conversations with the prohibited user are likewise deleted. However, the individual who has been blocked will not notice any differences. Blocked users may still see all archived conversations.
No Notifications of Screenshots
You won’t be informed if the person who blocked you captures a snapshot of the conversation while you were in it. However, the blocked user will get a notice on the chat page if a screenshot is taken. You may unblock the person, but you still won’t get the screenshot notice.
That’s a Wrap
When you block someone on Snapchat, what really happens? It states generally that a person will not be informed if they are blocked by a friend or acquaintance.
All of the modifications will only be seen from your perspective. Therefore, if you want to block someone without letting them know about it, you have the ability to do so.
There will not be any disagreements between the two of you until a third person informs one of you that the other has blocked them from communicating with you.